2011 Oshkosh Speedzone Banquet Recap

View the Division Breakdown from the Banquet

The Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway celebrated the 2011 race season with the awards banquet held at the La Sure’s Banquet Hall. With 200 registered guests for the banquet, we ended up with 215 guests.

Starting off the night announcements were made about the 2012 race season. We welcomed IMCA to the 2012 race season with sanctioning of the Sport Modifieds. We did not want to rush into anything said Larry so we are taking baby steps to ensure the partnership between IMCA and the Speedzone is a smooth transaction. Also if the drivers get their driver information sheet in by April 30, 2012 they will earn an extra 5 points to start the season. We will not be allowed to offer this to the IMCA Sport Mods due to sanction rules and point system.

There were many awards handed out to drivers and workers. Starting out for the evening was the Hard Luck Award –Rich Garbs, Sportsmanship Award – Chris Engles, Above and Beyond – Mike Morgan, Hard Charger of the Year – Ezekiel Bishofberger, Employee’s of the Year – Bob Schultz and Karen Meyers and the Safety Award – Joe & Mike Carpentor and the Omro Fire Department. There were also awards and thanks handed out to the wrecker companies Jim’s Towing and Fox Valley Torching and recycling both of Oshkosh, without the help of the safety crews and wrecker crews a weekly show would not be possible.

Rookie’s of the year for each division were also handed out , Lynn’s Service Center Dirt Devil Rookie of the Year – Chad Ewald, Total Power Sales Street Stocks Rookie of the Year – Matt Schultz, Leon’s Frozen Custard Sport Modifieds-Mike Dauphinais and the Automotive Supply Modified Rookie of the Year –Pat Toetz.

Champions were crowned in each division, Lynn’s Service Center Dirt Devils – Jason Fairbanks, Total Power Sales Street Stocks – Jeff Jungwirth, Leon’s Frozen Custard Sport Mods – Ezekiel Bishofberger Miller Lite Grand Nationals – TJ Smith and the Automotive Supply Modifieds –Brian Drexler.

The 2012 Speedzone schedule was also presented at the banquet.

The staff and Management of the Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway want to thank everyone who attended the banquet.

See everyone in 2012!!!
Larry and Jeff