Fall Classic Crowns Champions

by Dave Buss
The Champions were crowned after a tough start to Night Two of the Fall Classic. The night saw the pits moved to behind the grandstands and the races were delayed to get the track prepped. When racing got started it would be action packed.

Grand Nationals
Heat Winners: Kenny Richards, Brad Lubach, Larry Richards

Consi Winners: Tom Schaal, Travis Spaulding, Roger Van Roy
Street Stocks

John Schultz would leap to the lead in the 25 lap with Jerry Winkler, Derek Lecker, and Frank Knaus behind. A lap six caution would take the Knaus machine to the back of pack. On the restart, Jerry Winkler would use the low groove to grab the lead moving Schultz to second. Josh Novak would join the battle briefly only to spin out on lap eight and go to the back. Winkler would begin to pull away at the half way point with Schultz and Drew Wake giving chase. Matt Drawanek who started deep in the field, along with Brian Drexler, began to make noise joining the top eight with five to go. Caution would fly with four laps remaining. Winkler and Schultz would continue to battle it out with Winkler getting the win. Schultz, Drawanek and Lecker completed the top four.

Sport Mods
Jeff Schmuhl would take the lead in the Sport Mod feature event only to see Rod Solem fly past on lap five. Solem would continue to lead with Zeke Bishofberger moving to second a few laps later. Johnny Whitman would take the third spot and begin to track down Bishofberger. A lap 13 caution would bring the pack to the back of Solem. Brad Lautenbach would move into third and bring Tracy Wassenberg with him. As laps wound down Solem would be too much and pick up the win. Bishofberger would grab second, Lautenbach third and Wassenberg would be fourth. At the end of the night it was announced that the Sport Mods would be added to the show next year on a full time basis.

Grand Nationals
The Grand National feature event would see Larry Richards take the early lead with John Schultz powering past on lap three. Brian Cesar would grab third with Kenny Richards in fourth as the race approached the halfway point. Schultz would open up a commanding lead as laps went by with Cesar and Kenny Richards battling behind him. Richards would take over second and start to reel in Schultz. A lap 20 caution would set up a five lap shoot out between Schultz, Richards and Ben Stumpf. John Schultz would take the win with Ben Stumpf second, Kenny Richards would round out the top three. At press time this finish was still under review and unofficial.

The Modified B Main would pit all the cars that did not qualify for the feature event would run. Ryan Marshall took to the lead and built a nice lead. A lap eight caution would erase all the work though bringing Tim Thrun to his rear bumper. A lap 14 caution would leave six cars for six laps. Marshall would again take the lead and the win with Scott Kuxhouse second.
Jay Schraufnagel would lead early but Brian Mullen would steal the first half of the event building a commanding lead until a lap 14 caution. A restart with 11 to go would line Schraufnagel and RM Van Pay behind the leader. Brian Mullen would continue to dominate the feature despite numerous late race cautions. Schraufnagel would be the runner up with Van Pay third and Jared Siefert fourth. Benji LaCrosse would either get the hard luck award or the passing points award if there was one. LaCrosse caught up in a few cautions that would put him in the back only to have him fight back each time for a top ten finish.

Dirt Devils
Steve LeMay would take the lead on the first lap of the Dirt Devil feature and try to disappear. Dan Juszczyk would have different plans though as he pulled to the rear bumper of LeMay and tracked him lap after lap. Juszczyk would Grab the lead at the half way point and begin to get away from LeMay and Eddie LeMay who ran second and third. The top three would disappear from the field with 10 laps remaining. A Red Flag would stop the action when Eddie LeMay rolled in corner two. When racing resumed, it would be Juszczyk winning with Steve LeMay second and Mark Gerrits third.