Night Two of the Budweiser Triple Crown

by Dave Buss
There should have been a full moon on Friday night as things just never hit a groove at the Speedzone on Friday night. The Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprints joined the show for their second of three shows in 2010.

IRA results and recap on their website.

Total Power Sales Street Stocks
Jerry Winkler told me before the races that I should be sure to mention that his car was for sale. Well, after his performance on Friday night, anyone thinking of racing a Street Stock next year should look hard at the 2w. Simply put, Winkler was in a different league. Winning his Heat race by half a track, Winkler moved quickly to the front of the feature and continued to role. Despite numerous cautions and restarts Winkler easily drove to victory. The Knaus Racing crew capped a great night placing two cars in the top five with Frank finishing second and Daniel in fifth. Justin Lindner and Joe Wittmann rounded the top five out.

Heat Winners: Andy Gross, Jerry Winkler

Miller Lite Grand Nationals
Continuing the theme of the night, a caution filled Grand National feature would find Tim Thompson in Victory Lane. Thompson would also have to survive numerous restarts and cautions to earn his victory. When the race was under Green flag conditions Thompson was simply on a rail. Working his way through traffic to grab the lead on lap number 5 he would never look back. Steve Schneider, Terry Van Roy, Tim Warner and Larry Richards would take top five positions behind him.

Heat Winners: John Schultz, Kenny Richards, Tim Thompson
B-Main Winner: Tim Doehling

Competition Products Modifieds
Two of the top competitiors all season long at the Speedzone showed that as the season nears it’s conclusion they were going to have something to say about the final points. Scott Mullen, despite having two impressive passes for the lead wiped out by cautions, took the lead by lap five. Travis Spaulding would move into second and those two would build up commanding leads. Spaulding would close the gap only to have Mullen extend the lead the next lap. Chris Engels would move into third and maintain that position throughout the event with the 17 of Klenz grabbing fourth. Mullen would pick up the win in the end.

Heat Winners: Scott Mullen, Chris Engels, Tim Thurn
B- Main: David Schoenberger

Lynn’s Service Center Dirt Devils
The Dirt Devils were the only group to run their feature nearly caution free. A lap one caution would be the only time that the field was slowed. Steve LeMay and Tim Simon would grab spots up front and battle it out for the win. LeMay would maintain about a one second lead over Simon the entire race picking up another win. Kathy Pierrard would win a contentious battle to grab third from the 92 of Mehlberg and the H20 of Krause. Once again, hats off to the Dirt Devil class for a great feature event.

Heat Winners: No Heats, feature set by points.

Racing continues to wind down at the Speedzone this year and first ever Fall Classic is looming large. Numerous drivers were at the track for the first time getting ready for the event that takes place September 10-11. Please check out for more details.