Old Style Racing at the Oshkosh Speedzone: Modified Division Will Qualify For Coors Light Walk of Fame Classic

Oshkosh, WI – The 2012 version of the Coors Light Walk of Fame Classic at the Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway, slated for Tuesday night, July 17th, has taken another step toward a true throwback event with the announcement that for the first time in track history the modified division will qualify prior to the start of the racing program.

"Larry (Stratton) and I talked about things we could implement into the Walk of Fame program that would make it feel more like a racing program from 25 or 30 years ago," said track co-promoter Jeff Lemiesz. "We focused on what a racing program was like at Leo’s Speedway, how it was run, and what the fans got to see each night.
"Both of us came up with the same thing – qualifying. That’s something not done on dirt tracks in the area today but was a prevalent part of the program in the 1960’s and 1970’s. For the Coors Light Walk of Fame Classic qualifying will return for the modified division only."

Plans call for qualifying to take place at 6:30 pm leading up to a 7:05 pm starting time that night. Only the modified class will take part in the qualifying session. All other divisions will be lined-up that night by the track’s normal procedures.

There will be a random draw for the Modifieds for qualifying position, then the Modified drivers will be summoned to pit lane at 6:25 pm and will be allowed to take 3 qualifying laps. Because the track uses transponders there will be as many as four cars on the track at one time which will allow drivers to take at least three turns at the clock. The Oshkosh Speedzone has the bonus of transponders to allow multiple cars on the track at one time. That will be the only difference between qualifying on the Walk of Fame Classic and what it would have been like in 1972," Lemiesz said.
The fastest 16 drivers in time trials will automatically make the night’s feature event. Those 16 will be divided into two groups and run an 8-lap qualifying event that will see the finish determine the line-up for the first eight rows of the feature race. Those drivers not in the top 16 in qualifying will be divided into two or three heat races, depending on car count, with the heat race winners moving into the feature race. The semi-feature or semi-features will then determine the remainder of the starting field.

"This is a twist to what is normally done but something that I think the fans will really enjoy," said co-promoter Larry Stratton of the time trials and qualifying heat races. "It’s not truly what used to happen at Leo’s Speedway because time trials set the feature and semi-feature races there. This still gives guys a chance to get into the feature race through a heat race or semi-feature just like every Friday night."
The event will be highlighted by the induction of the next group of honorees into the track’s Walk of Fame. There are currently 15 members on the list. Three additions will be brought forward during the program and be honored with a short ceremony in front of the grandstand.

This years inductees are MJ McBride, Willie Goeden and Terry Baldry.

For further information on the Walk of Fame Classic or any other events at the track please visit