SpeedZone results July 25

Oshkosh, July 25- A cool, cloudy evening greeted racers and fans to the Oshkosh SpeedZone Raceway for another 6 division racing program Friday night. WAPL radio was the title sponsor for the action on the 1/3 mile clay oval.

The total Power Sales IMCA Stock Cars started the feature portion of the program with Kevin Hebbe setting the opening lap pace before Justin Jacobsen Moved into the top spot. Dylan Heilmann and Mark Schuenemann gave chase until lap 6 when Travis Van Straton made his way to third and on lap 9 into second. One lap later, he made his way to the front and never looked back as he drove off to his 5th feature win of the season. Heilmann collected the runner up position with point leader, John Heinz taking third. Schuenemann and Larry Karcz, Jr were 4th and 5th with Kyle Frederick making his first appearance of the season rounding out the top six.

The Gold Star Racing Products Grand Nationals were up next with Terry Schoppenhorst grabbing the lead from the pole and set the pace until the lone caution of the race appeared on lap 6. On the restart, Brian Henry scooted into the lead with Tim Reichenberger also moving into the runner up spot. The pair pulled away from the field with Terry Van Roy, Jeff Richards and Charlie Sancinati battling for third. Henry kept Reichenberger at bay for the rest of the race to win his second straight and third feature of the season. Van Roy won the race for third with Richard and Sancinati behind. Tom Schneider rounded out the top six.

Rookie Adam Peschek took the lead at the start of the IMCA Sport Mod main with Robby Thiel, Colten Van Hierden, Clint Forstner and Jon Schultz behind. Van Hierden moved to the front and took the lead on lap 5. He hooked up in the high groove and never let Peschek get closer than a couple car lengths until a lone caution flew on lap 12. During the slow down, Peschek had to pit for a flat tire which moved Forstner and Schultz up in line with Steve Schneider moving into 4th. Van Hierden again took the high line for the restart with Schneider making a move into second. Schneider was hugging the inside line and would pull even several times but Van Hierden had the outside working and he stayed put and was able to hold Schneider at Bay to win his first ever SpeedZone feature.

Schneider, Forstner, Schultz, Brock Saunders and Theil made the top six.

Automotive Supply Company IMCA Modifieds were on the track next with Rick Robbins leading the pack for one lap before Taylor Scheffler and Jim Rhode both moved to the front 2 spots by lap 4. Cautions were abundant in this main event that kept the field bunched and made advancing a challenge.

Eddie Muenster made his way to the front taking over the runner up spot on lap 8 and into the lead one lap later. Defending champion and current point leader, Sean Jerovetz moved into second after a final caution on lap 12 and for the final 8 laps, hounded Muenster for the lead. Scheffler, Rhode, Tim Robbins, Brian Drexler, T.J. Smith and Jeremy Christians were grouped in a tight battle for third place as the leaders pulled away.

Muenster was using the inside line to perfection and was able to hold off Jerovetzz for his first feature win of the season with Jerovetz right behind. Scheffler was able to hold off the pack to place third, only to be light in the post race inspection, which moved Rhode into the spot followed by Christians, Drexler, and Mike Wedelstadt in the top six.

The Outlaw Chassis Street Stocks had a 21 car field for their feature event with Wayne Morgan holding the lead for the opening 2 circuits before Jeff Jungwirth powered by. A string of cautions slowed the race several times, but after each one, Jungwirth was able to re establish a lead on the field. Morgan, Jim Pollnow Rich Garb, Steve Ecker and Ryan Blank battled behind the leader. Ecker had moved into second on lap 11 and faced a several length margin to catch Jungwirth, but a final caution on lap 13, bunched the field again with Morgan, Jerry Winkler Steve Gawaresky and Mark Schultz now poised behind the leaders.

Jungwirth again took off afer the final restart and would not be seriously challenged as he drove off to collect his 3rd feature win of the season. Ecker held onto the runner up finish with Morgan, Winkler, Gawaresky and Schultz rounding out the top six.

The Ellington Mutual Insurance Company Dirt Devils made their trek onto the speedway with Trevor Spaulding grabbing the top spot for the first three laps before Kasey Gross moved from mid pack into the lead on lap 4. Shaun Bangart moved into the runner up spot one lap later and the pair pulled away from the field. Bangart hugged the inside line and Gross was running up a bit which allowed Bangart to sneak into the lead on lap 7. For the rest of the race, the pair ran side by side in a great race for the lead, weaving through lapped traffic and swapping the lead several times. Bangart continued to hold the inside making Gross to make an outside pass or find a gap inside. Neither developed with Gross settling for the runner up finish as Bangart claimed his fifth feature win of the year. The battle for third was just as good over the final half of the race with Erik Kollmann, Christopher Maas, Wes Lungwitz, Jason Fairbank and Alex Siedl swapped positions. Maas took third at the finish with Kollmann, Fairbank and Lungwitz rounded out the top six.

Next Friday night, August 1, will be one of the most anticipated nights of the year as Coors Light and Knause Cheese/ Weyauwega Star Dairy present the 2014 Walk of Fame induction along with the LeRoy Dehn Memorial. The night also has special $1.00 Soda, Beer, hot dogs and BBQ and a final appearance of the Spectator Eliminators for this season.

The event also kicks off a short week as racing returns right away on Tuesday, August 5, for the opening night of the Winnebago County Fair, with a full six division program on the menu. There will be no racing on Friday August 8.

The Oshkosh SpeedZone Raceway is a featured member track of, a website dedicated to bringing fans the best possible coverage of short track racing.



20 Lap Feature l. Eddie Muenster 2, Sean jerovetz 3. Jim Rhode 4. Jeremy Christians 5. Brian Drexler 6. Mike Wedelstadt

8 Lap Heats First l. Matt Klenz 2. Muenster

Second l. Taylor Scheffler 2. Ed Lemay

Third l. Jerovetz 2. Rhode


20 Lap Feature l. Travis Van Straten 2. Dylan Heilmann 3. John Heinz 4. Mark Schuenemann 5, Larry Karcz, Jr 6. Kyle Frederick

8 Lap Heats First l. Karcz 2. Heilmann

Second l. Justiin Jacobsen 2. Schoenemann


20 Lap Feature l. Jeff Jungwirth 2,. Steve Ecker 3. Wayne Morgan 4. Jerry Winkler 5. Steve Gawaresky 6, Mark Schultz

8 Lap Heats First l. Jim Pollnow 2. Morgan

Second l. Winkler 2. Jungwirth

Gold star racing product grand nationals

20 Lap feature Brian Henry 2. Timn Reichenberger 3. Terry Van Roy 4. Jeff Richards 5. Charlei Sancinati 6. Tom Schneider

8 Lap Heats First l. Terry Schoppenhorst 2. Henry

Second l. Van Roy 2. Tim Doehling


20 Lap feature l. Colten Van Hierden 2, Steve Schneider 3. Clint Forstner 4, Jon Schultz 5. Brock Saunders 6. Robby Thiel

8 Lap Heats First l. Thiel 2. Ryan Besaw

Second l. ADFAM Peschek 2. Van Hierden


20 Lap Feature l. Shaun Bangart 2, Kasey Gross 3. Christopher Maas 4. Erik Kollmann 5. Jason Fairbank 6. Wes Lungwitz

8 Lap Heats First l. Trevor Spaulding 2. Fairbank

Second l. Bangart 2. Alex Siedl